22 June 2012

Rt. Rev Stanley Ntagali is new COU Archbishop

Publish Date: Jun 22, 2012 By Raymond Baguma and Vicky Wandawa The Rt. Rev. Stanley Ntagali is the new archbishop of the Church of Uganda. He takes over from outgoing Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi in December. The House of Bishops, comprising leaders of the 34 dioceses in the country, elected the new Archbishop this morning after a week-long retreat at Lweza Conference Centre. Ntagali becomes the eighth person to assume the seat in the history of the Church of Uganda. Previous archbishops of the Church of Uganda are Leslie Brown, who was the first archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Boga-Zaire. Others were Erica Sabiti, Janani Luwum, Silvanus Wani, Yona Okoth, Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo and Henry Luke Orombi. Henry Luke Orombi, Stanley Ntagali and Mpalanyi Nkoyoyo after the elections. Photo by Arthur Kintu The communications director for the Church of Uganda, the Rev. Can. Dr. Alison Barfoot, said outgoing Archbishop Orombi will begin a farewell tour to all the 34 dioceses in the Church of Uganda. She said the new archbishop will also serve as the Diocesan Bishop of Kampala diocese as well as archbishop of the entire Church of Uganda. The new archbishop will be consecrated on December 16 at St. Paul’s Cathedral in Namirembe. Other contenders to the position were Steven Kazimba Mugalu Mbowa (Mukono diocese), Stanley Ntagali (Masindi-Kitala diocese), Joel Obetia (Madi and West Nile diocese) and Nathan Kyamanywa. Early this year, Orombi announced he would step down as Church of Uganda Archbishop and called for the election of his successor. Who is Rev. Stanley Ntagali He was born in Kigezi, 57 years ago, but his family later migrated to Bunyoro. He has been working as a teacher, youth worker and missionary. The New Archbishop Stanley Ntagali. Photo by Arthur Kintu. Ntagali has held various positions in the Church of Uganda since he was ordained in 1981. He served as vicar, diocesan secretary and archdeacon. When he was archdeacon of Masindi, he spearheaded the creation of Masindi-Kitara Diocese. When Ntagali was provincial secretary, he organised the enthronement of Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi. He is known to be outspoken on public issues. For instance, his views on the Anti-Gay Bill are wellknown. Ntagali holds a masters degree in theology and development from the Oxford Centre for Mission, UK. He studied at Bishop Tucker Theological College and St. Paul’s United Theological College in Limiru, Kenya. He is married to Beatrice with whom he has five children.

New Archbishop to be announced

Facts on the election process By Monitor Reporter Posted Thursday, June 21 2012 at 00:00 1.The election of the next Archbishop will take place tomorrow, Friday, June 22, 2012 in the Provincial Office of the Church of Uganda, Namirembe. 2. The name of the place where the voting is taking place is – Lweza Training and Conference Centre on Entebbe Road. 3.The House of Bishops is the body that elects the Archbishop. It comprises all active Diocesan and Assistant Bishops. There are 35 Bishops in the House of Bishops and the Provincial Chancellor presides over the lection. 4.The leading contenders are said to be Nathan Kyamanywa, Bunyoro Kitara Diocese; Stanley Ntagali Masindi Diocese; and Joel Obetia Madi,West Nile Diocese. 5.An Archbishop can serve for 10 years only and no more. They can only serve until their 65th birthday, at which age they must retire, even if they have served less than their 10-year term. 6.To be elected an Archbishop, you must be a Bishop in the Church of Uganda and at least 50 years old. Share This Story Share 7.The role of the Arch bishop in the Church is generally to act as the Head of the Anglican Church, promote evangelism and mission, promote the youth ministry and provide stewardship and financial accountability. 8. All Dioceses must have Bishops. There can be no vacant dioceses and there are currently 35 serving in the Church of Uganda. Of these 29 are eligible to become Archbishop. 9.The current Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi is retiring after nine years and before he turns 65. He said in his January 11 press conference, “My passion as a Christian and a leader is preaching the Gospel, and that has been my life-long calling. When I have been invited to our Dioceses on pastoral visits, I have always made it an opportunity to preach and invite people into a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. So, I want to devote the rest of my life, while I am still able, to fulfillthis calling full-time. 10 The previous Archbishops include: a)Archbishop Leslie Brown, British missionary, was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966) b)Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974) c) Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977. d) Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province. e) Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995) f) Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004) g) Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 - 2012 ) The list of the 29 eligible bishops The Rt Rev D. Zac Niringiye - Assistant Bishop, Kampala Diocese The Rt Rev Michael Kyomya - Busoga Diocese The Rt Rev Dan Zoreka - Kinkiizi Diocese The Rt Rev Charles Odurkami - Lango Diocese The Rt Rev Stanley Ntagali - Masindi-Kitara Diocese The Rt Rev Cranmer Mugisha - Muhabura Diocese The Rt Rev Alphonse Watho-kudi - Nebbi Diocese The Rt Rev Patrick Tugume-Tusingwire - North Kigezi Diocese The Rt Rev Nicodemus Okille - Bukedi Diocese The Rt Rev Jackson Matovu - Central Buganda Diocese The Rt Rev Joseph Abura - Karamoja Diocese The Rt Rev Benjamin Ojwang – Kitgum Diocese The Rt Rev Evans Kisekka - Luweero Diocese The Rt Rev Patrick Gidudu - Mbale Diocese The Rt Rev William James Ssebaggala - Mukono Diocese The Rt Rev John Muhanguzi North - Ankole Diocese The Rt Rev Daniel Gimadu - North Mbale Diocese The Rt Rev Augustine Salimo - Sebei Diocese The Rt Rev Jackson Nzerebende - South Rwenzori Diocese The Rt Rev Nathan Kyamanywa - Bunyoro-Kitara Diocese The Rt Rev Edward Bamucwanira - East Ruwenzori Diocese The Rt Rev George Katwesigye - Kigezi Diocese The Rt Rev Thomas Edison Irigei - Kumi Diocese The Rt Rev Dr. Joel Obetia Madi-West Nile Diocese The Rt Rev James Nasak North Karamoja Diocese The Rt Rev Wilberforce Kityo Luwalira - Namirembe Diocese The Rt Rev Canon Johnson Gakumba - Northern Uganda Diocese The Rt Rev George Erwau - Soroti Diocese The Rt Rev Yona Katoneene - West Ankole Diocese