22 June 2012

New Archbishop to be announced

Facts on the election process By Monitor Reporter Posted Thursday, June 21 2012 at 00:00 1.The election of the next Archbishop will take place tomorrow, Friday, June 22, 2012 in the Provincial Office of the Church of Uganda, Namirembe. 2. The name of the place where the voting is taking place is – Lweza Training and Conference Centre on Entebbe Road. 3.The House of Bishops is the body that elects the Archbishop. It comprises all active Diocesan and Assistant Bishops. There are 35 Bishops in the House of Bishops and the Provincial Chancellor presides over the lection. 4.The leading contenders are said to be Nathan Kyamanywa, Bunyoro Kitara Diocese; Stanley Ntagali Masindi Diocese; and Joel Obetia Madi,West Nile Diocese. 5.An Archbishop can serve for 10 years only and no more. They can only serve until their 65th birthday, at which age they must retire, even if they have served less than their 10-year term. 6.To be elected an Archbishop, you must be a Bishop in the Church of Uganda and at least 50 years old. Share This Story Share 7.The role of the Arch bishop in the Church is generally to act as the Head of the Anglican Church, promote evangelism and mission, promote the youth ministry and provide stewardship and financial accountability. 8. All Dioceses must have Bishops. There can be no vacant dioceses and there are currently 35 serving in the Church of Uganda. Of these 29 are eligible to become Archbishop. 9.The current Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi is retiring after nine years and before he turns 65. He said in his January 11 press conference, “My passion as a Christian and a leader is preaching the Gospel, and that has been my life-long calling. When I have been invited to our Dioceses on pastoral visits, I have always made it an opportunity to preach and invite people into a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. So, I want to devote the rest of my life, while I am still able, to fulfillthis calling full-time. 10 The previous Archbishops include: a)Archbishop Leslie Brown, British missionary, was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966) b)Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974) c) Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977. d) Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province. e) Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995) f) Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004) g) Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 - 2012 ) The list of the 29 eligible bishops The Rt Rev D. Zac Niringiye - Assistant Bishop, Kampala Diocese The Rt Rev Michael Kyomya - Busoga Diocese The Rt Rev Dan Zoreka - Kinkiizi Diocese The Rt Rev Charles Odurkami - Lango Diocese The Rt Rev Stanley Ntagali - Masindi-Kitara Diocese The Rt Rev Cranmer Mugisha - Muhabura Diocese The Rt Rev Alphonse Watho-kudi - Nebbi Diocese The Rt Rev Patrick Tugume-Tusingwire - North Kigezi Diocese The Rt Rev Nicodemus Okille - Bukedi Diocese The Rt Rev Jackson Matovu - Central Buganda Diocese The Rt Rev Joseph Abura - Karamoja Diocese The Rt Rev Benjamin Ojwang – Kitgum Diocese The Rt Rev Evans Kisekka - Luweero Diocese The Rt Rev Patrick Gidudu - Mbale Diocese The Rt Rev William James Ssebaggala - Mukono Diocese The Rt Rev John Muhanguzi North - Ankole Diocese The Rt Rev Daniel Gimadu - North Mbale Diocese The Rt Rev Augustine Salimo - Sebei Diocese The Rt Rev Jackson Nzerebende - South Rwenzori Diocese The Rt Rev Nathan Kyamanywa - Bunyoro-Kitara Diocese The Rt Rev Edward Bamucwanira - East Ruwenzori Diocese The Rt Rev George Katwesigye - Kigezi Diocese The Rt Rev Thomas Edison Irigei - Kumi Diocese The Rt Rev Dr. Joel Obetia Madi-West Nile Diocese The Rt Rev James Nasak North Karamoja Diocese The Rt Rev Wilberforce Kityo Luwalira - Namirembe Diocese The Rt Rev Canon Johnson Gakumba - Northern Uganda Diocese The Rt Rev George Erwau - Soroti Diocese The Rt Rev Yona Katoneene - West Ankole Diocese

No comments: